• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

Register Log in

How Dante beat Vergil:

Exejpgwmv

(I remember people saying that they'd want to see a thread about this, so here's one.)

Skill: Vergil is obviously the more skilled of the two brothers. His movements are quicker and more precise; obvious signs of actual training. As apposed to Dante's more self taught style of fighting.

But keep in mind, Vergil does not suffer from the "Rule of Cool", so the skill gap isn't that large.

Experience: Not much to talk about here. They both have roughly the same amount of experience fighting various demons since they were young.
Though Dante has a little more because he attracted a lot more attention to himself.

Knowledge of Each Others Styles: Vergil is actually at a disadvantage here.
Dante has actually fought several enemies that have a very similar style to Vergil's. While Vergil probably hasn't encountered anything like Dante before.

Weapon Variety: Obviously, Dante's arsenal is a lot more versatile and unpredictable than Vergil's Yamato and Summoned Swords combo.

Strength: This one goes to Dante, almost all of Dante's attacks does more damage when compared to one of Vergil's.
And he punched back Mundus in his giant form with his bare hands, while Vergil was struggling against him.

Speed: Vergil wins by a landslide on this front.
All of his melee attacks are faster and he recovers a lot faster. Plus his ability to teleport makes his dodge almost instantaneous.

Devil Trigger
: Dante wins here as well because his takes away the most powerful part of Vergil's; the Doppelganger.

There you have it: Dante wins in 5 categories and Vergil only wins in 2.
So it honestly isn't much of a stretch that Dante won in their final confrontation.

Foxtrot94

Elite Hunter
Premium
Disagreed on experience. Dante's been fighting demons ever since the very moment of Eva's death.