• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

Register Log in

Firearms & DMC time period

TonyRedgraveDMC

So I have very little knowledge about guns, but going with DMC3 > DMC > DMC4 > DMC2, and the inclusion of certain guns (Spiral & Kalina Ann in 3, Grenadegun in DMC, Submachine Guns and Missile Launcher in DMC2) what sort of time periods can it be assumed each game falls into based on this. Due to very little gun knowledge and this, I am inconvenienced when trying to decide on what types of firearms to include in a DMC-verse fanfiction set during and after the events of each game.

rocketvergil

Vergil's apprentice, the successor to yamato
DMC is set in modern times. The period we live in now. Dante has a jukebox, lady has a motorbike. Strip clubs exist. Bars exist. You don't need to look at the guns to know when it's based upon

TonyRedgraveDMC

"Modern times" is kind of a stretch in general, let alone for what models of guns might have been manufactured at the time.

rocketvergil

"Modern times" is kind of a stretch in general, let alone for what models of guns might have been manufactured at the time.
If you want to be safe, include guns from the game. Bazookas, rifles, demon energy blasters. You could add a some sort of automatic weapon such as machine guns or SMGs. A tazer might be a creative weapon.

TonyRedgraveDMC

Submachine Guns and tazers would have been present as early as DMC3? I'm not even quite sure what Kalina Ann or Spiral are classified as.

rocketvergil

Submachine Guns and tazers would have been present as early as DMC3? I'm not even quite sure what Kalina Ann or Spiral are classified as.
It's a video game. Don't go overboard on realism. Fan fic stands for fantasy fiction. So, just write your heart out. Don't bother with small things like this

berto

I Saw the Devil