• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

Register Log in

Should ESRB ratings be updated?

Meg

I has a thought! :O

Considering the fact that many kids younger than the age of 17 are playing 17+ games and not being completely corrupted by them should the ESRB update its rating system? As of now it looks like this

C (toddlers)
E (5-9ish)
E10+
T (13+)
M (17+)
AO (18+)

There is a pretty big four year gap between T and M rated games. Do you think gamers at around the age of 15-16 old enough to play those games, or should it stay as it? I started playing M-rated games at 15. My first one was Devil May Cry actually. <3! And no, I'm not forever corrupted and messed up in the head because of it. By that age i was well aware it was just a game.

So basically, is the average 15-16 year-old mature enough to play an M-rated game? What about 14-year-olds? Should the ratings change? if so, to what?

Discuss! :D

V

Oldschool DMC fan
(I heard my sister was letting her 3 year old son play and watch CoD. I don't even know what to think about that...)

Reactions: Meg

wallenb

Humanoid Typhoon
I think it should stand the way it is. The parents are the ones that should ultimately choose which game a kid should have especially if they are under age. The new bloodrayne game has a crap load of gore, but its cartoon violence and so it was given a "T" rating. Devil May Cry is always "M" rated and its has hardly any gore or disturbing images. So i think it all comes down the the house hold. The ratings just make it easier for the parents to see what they're child is going to be playing

DreadnoughtDT

God of Hyperdeath
Premium
Supporter 2014
I've played T and M games since I was quite young (I got DMC1 when I was 8, I think). But I do think that gamer teens who are below the M rating yet know it's just a game should be able to purchase M rated games.

Ronan

oakheart
Premium