• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

Register Log in

How IGN Have Lost Their Way

Chaos Raiden

Avid Gamer & Reviewer
How IGN Have Lost Their Way

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been using IGN as my source of gaming information for many many years and have listened to their podcasts from the very start; but over the last couple of years or so I feel IGN have lost their way and this article is my qualification of this statement.

Entertainment

IGN used to be the source of gaming information tailoring its content specifically to gamers, it was detailed, varied and always kept on point.

But increasingly over the last few years due in part to its more over-bearing parent company Fox, it has diversified to keep with the times. This means IGN’s focus is all mediums of entertainment and because of this their video game coverage has lessened. This can be directly quantified by the quality of reviews and articles IGN produce for video games.

Why IGN didn’t keep their site true to their name (Imagine Games Network) is beyond! me and setting up alternate brands may have been advantageous for promoting their other ventures.

Focusing on entertainment as a whole isn’t a bad thing but its no reason to decrement the original aim of IGN to provide gaming news, reviews and media.

Baiting

In a bid to stay relevant IGN have resorted to baiting, intentional writing articles or posting statements that polarise the gaming community, this often entails claiming a video game is better on one system or the other, spouting sales numbers and can even be seen running through their game of the year lists, often their statements are untrue.

Chris Roper

Chris Roper was the Editor-in-chief for the IGN gaming channel; for me, Chris Roper leaving was the start of the end for IGN.