• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

Register Log in

Attention artist!

Chancey289

Fake Geek Girl.
Do artist have a social responsibility? Should good art be made or art that is "good for you"?

Discuss.

V

Oldschool DMC fan
As an artist, I make whatever I damn well want. Self expression, innit.

And frankly, I used to belive that artists should have a modicum of social responsibility, that is until I realized the heaving hordes of idiots out there and saw that if I were to cater to pleasing only a certain level of intelligence or tolerance, I would not enjoy this 'art'. I would be stunted, stifled... because there are other people out there who are not on the same page as me, or cannot 'handle' what I might wish to create. That is society's problem as I see it, not mine.

So no. Other people can bang forever on that art should be 'beautiful, not ugly', or that art should have 'purpose' and educate, remain within the boundaries of society's 'taste'; but I say screw all of that. Art has no meaning other that what you put into it or read into it. And that's exactly how I like it. It's a human outlet for whatever purpose and has been since the first caveman graffiti'd all over a pristine cave wall just because he could, or maybe 'cause he just really liked drawing antelopes.

Censorship and self-limitation in this matter is not the way to expand and enhance one's experience and understanding, and the censorship of art reeks of fear.

Loopy

Devil hunter in training
People should do what they want. Art is about freedom to express the self. Not all art has to be colourful or have a cheery subject matter. Some of the best art for me are the ones that show how depressing or dark life can be...there's a certain beauty in that I find appealing.