• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

Register Log in

Can someone give me tips for MAX-Act?

EwadS2342

I was having problems with the MAX-Act skill in the game, I always get a single bar for exceed, and I know practice makes perfect, so I need some tips like when I should press the Exceed button (Q on my PC).

seraphmaycry

i'm no expert on DMC4, and somebody will probably come up with a better post then me.

The process is like jump cancelling, you have to find that one spot in each attack through many attempts (or a handy youtube video, check for those) and practice it until it becomes one of your brains automatic responses, like putting your shoes on and getting in the car to go somewhere without even realizing you did anything, full autopilot is the ideal.

i think the forward lock on move (i don't remember what it's called) is fairly easy to do, i remember being able to get it right a decent amount of the time when i played Nero.

if you've learnt how to jump cancel pretend it's that exact process.

also, a controller reconfig may help you, i use default sword and charge but other button set ups may be easier for you to work with, i only just remembered typing this that my dmc3 set-up isn't the default.

Rolanthas

Yeah I also use Nero's Streak ( forward lock on) for an easy Max-Act. That would be a good way to start.

Regular revs and Max-Act have a nano second difference in timing. You can probably find a frame by frame guide for each moves Max Act timing, but it'd be easier to stick with one easy move and just repeat it until you feel confident with the timing.

seraphmaycry

Thanks guys for the tips, really appreciate it.
Streak is a good start for me for mastering MAX-act.