• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

Register Log in

Why Resistance is so refreshing- Essay

Meg

Here's another something I wrote. :)

-------
Why Resistance is so refreshing

Resistance is one of those rare series that, when they come along, remind me why I like playing games so much. With so many games becoming more realistic, more gritty, more brown and gray, more linear and stream lined, and more boring, it’s great to have a series that actual offers a fun experience.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against games trying to be more realistic, but sometimes I really want to shoot aliens with a gun that fires energy blasts through walls. Enter Resistance.

I recently started playing Resistance: Burning Skies for the PSVita. Like with previous games in the series, I had a smile on my face while playing. Why? Because it’s a fun game. Resistance’s main draw has always been it’s weapon selection, and this game doesn’t disappoint. The usual weapons are here, like the Bullseye, Carbine, and Auger. There’s also a shotgun that is also a crossbow and a giant, heavy machine gun to name a few, and you can carry all your guns around with you through out the entire game.

While weapon variety in Resistance is always great, that isn’t the only thing this series does better than most shooters out there today. Making the most out of your surroundings is a must. Many enemies can attack you while you’re in cover, so it’s important to keep moving. You can’t just rest behind a chest high wall for hours on end.

There’s also room to explore some. Resistance 3 had this down perfectly. Instead of only have one correct path, players could explore and try different routes: finding different Intel and supplies depending on the route they took.