• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

Register Log in

more difficult than DMC3?

hinge

Hi there, I'm a long time lurker who is really frustrated with DMC4...

I understand that the general consensus is that DMC3 is harder than 4 -- which I fail to understand. I think the enemies in 4 are much more annoying and troublesome to deal with, and when I play 4, I don't feel very much like a Son of Sparda. I'd like to hear what some of the "pros" among you have to say about this.

(warning: giant first-time post. I apologize.)

Before I start ranting, I've played DMC3 quite a bit, and I think I'm tolerably good at it. No SS ranks, but I can hold my own on Very Hard mode (DMD is a nightmare). I haven't played 4 enough to remember which way to go on each mission. I'm not a pro, but I don't suck.

Except at DMC4. It seems that almost every enemy in this game has either annoying behavior (bouncing around like arachnes from 3), some kind of shield (like the fallen), super fast non telegraphed moves (think hell lust uppercut), or a combination. Also, they react to your attacks as if they are in devil trigger, when they AREN'T in DT.

Some examples (well, just about every enemy...):

Frosts - first, I would like to say that these are pretty cool. I recall they have some five different attacks to deal with Nero/Dante at any range. That's good AI design. However, when you actually hit these critters, they barely seem to flinch. Hightime and any other moves that knockback only work on the second time. For example, it won't flinch if you stinger it's face, but you will get your knock back on the second stinger. Isn't this the kind of behavior you'd only expect from DT'd enemies?? Also, I have seen Frosts, as well as those lizards, ESCAPE a DANCE MACABRE, and even an aerial rave!