• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

Register Log in

ESSAY: Engagement vs. Spectacle in Games

Meg

I was thinking about this today, and decided to write a short essay about it. I hope you guys like it.

Engagement vs. Spectacle in Games

I recently bought Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3. I played the first two games years ago, and figured I’d give this one a go. It was cheap. So I started playing the multiplayer first and was having a good time, but after a while I decided to check out the campaign. Even though I didn’t really care for the story in the second game, I was curious to see what happened next. I figured I’d play through a short and sweet campaign that I would have some fun with, but soon forget about and go back to the multiplayer.

I could barely even get through the first hour. Something just wasn’t clicking. All the elements of the past two games were there: crazy, intense action, fast paced gameplay, over the top set pieces. But despite all that, I wasn’t having fun. When I stopped playing and put the controller down I just kind of leaned back and thought: “What just happened? Why don’t I like this game? In fact, why do I kind of hate it?”

call+od+duty+modern+warfare+3+canvas+games+free+download+game+full+2.jpg

Over a week later and I still didn’t know. Then I started playing Lumines: Electronic Symphony for the PS Vita. I instantly got into it. After playing for about a half hour: it clicked. I was interested in the game I was playing. I wanted to keep playing more. I was engaged.