• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

Register Log in

Alien Isolation PC Review

xMobilemux

I'll just get right to the ass kicking.
Supporter 2014
Alien Isolation PC Review

I just finished Alien Isolation for the PC and I enjoyed it so much I wanted to make a review on it, I rarely do reviews because most games don't excite me enough to care afterwards, but this game was just too fantastic to pass up.

After Aliens Colonal Marines I waited until the reviews showed up until I bought this game and since the common opinion was positive I felt like it was a safe buy, so I started playing it on Thursday.

Story
The story of Alien Isloation is pretty simple, set between the events of Alien and Aliens featuring Ellen Ripley's daughter Amanda's quest to find out more about her mother's disappearance.
Amanda travels to a space station known as the Sevastopol to find the flight recorder of the Nostromo that has been found by a scavenge team.
However Amanda soon finds out that an Alien is also on the Sevastopol and has caused chaos.
I won't go any further into the story since I don't want to reveal spoilers, but I thought the story was good.
Cutscenes are pre rendered with noticeably not so good lip sync, but that doesn't matter to me personally.

I felt that the ending however left a lot out and that could have been handled better.

Visuals & Performance
As everyone has probably noticed already, the visuals in Alien Isolation are beyond spectacular, the lighting is superb, the particles are just brilliant and it really creates an atmosphere that mimics the original film, the graphics and lighting are so well done that the game looks like real life most of the time and the flamethrower in particular looks photo realistic.
(Screenshots from my playthrough)
Screenshot 1
Screenshot 2
Screenshot 3
Screenshot 4
Screenshot 5