Which device(s) do you use to browse the forum?

Which device(s) do you use to browse the forum?

  • PC (with Chrome-based or Firefox-based browser)

    Votes: 12 80.0%
  • Phone or Tablet (Android)

    Votes: 8 53.3%
  • Phone or Tablet (Apple/iOS)

    Votes: 3 20.0%
  • Other

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    15
  • Poll closed .

Steve

Cheeky Wee McGregor
Admin
Staff
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
2,278
Reaction score
1,790
Points
7,425
Age
34
Twitter
yeahSP
Hi guys!

I recently discovered that the forum natively supports 'Push' notifications for pretty much all devices (computer, tablet, phone, etc.) except anything iOS-based. I'm going to look into properly enabling the option, but I wanted to get a better idea of how people view the forum in particular. We don't use Google Analytics on this site, and the 'data' that is shared from your device is extremely limited (effectively the only 'data' we receive amounts to what you include on your profile).

So, yeah - if you have a moment to respond to this thread and select whichever poll option(s) most closely fit you, then that'd be cool. The poll will run for two weeks from the date of thread publishing. Cheers and God bless!
 

Erian1Mortal

Well-Known Member
Supporter Gold
Joined
Aug 26, 2012
Messages
1,074
Reaction score
1,539
Points
2,875
Age
28
I tend to use Forums and Discord on PC only, probably just because I'm old fashioned and don't have internet access everywhere with my phone.
 

Carlos

A powerful demon
Xen-Omni 2020 Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
827
Reaction score
397
Points
4,355
Twitter
CarlosX360
F.Y.I. There is a light version of "push" notification on desktop, so this extends to PC's. You'll see a number next to a browser's header.

It's been there since 2.0 as a test. The reason, according to xenforo for not supporting iOS devices is because of their code libraries are extensive, would require more coding.

And shame on you for not using GA, @Steve, you'd need it in case you need to sell the site or tell advertisers how much traffic you get, etc.

As for answering the question: Computer and phone. Android.
 
Last edited:

ef9dante_oSsshea

Well-Known Member
Supporter Gold
Xen-Omni 2020 Supporter
Joined
Jun 26, 2013
Messages
5,812
Reaction score
5,985
Points
9,465
Mainly use my Sony Xperia z3 for the forum , and my tablet

So went with tablet and Android
 

Angel

Is not rat, is hamster
Admin
Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
7,311
Reaction score
9,886
Points
18,175
Osmosis.

Also, my android tablet, android phone and PC
 

LordOfDarkness

The Dark Avenger © †
Staff
Supporter 2014
Supporter Diamond
Supporter Gold
Xen-Omni 2020 Supporter
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
11,337
Reaction score
13,133
Points
21,675
Age
29
In the very small minority that uses iOS.
 

ReaperHunter

Follow me to Apex
Supporter Gold
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
1,845
Reaction score
2,461
Points
4,865
Age
22
I use my PC and Android phone.
 

V

Oldschool DMC fan
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
4,773
Reaction score
3,888
Points
10,015
PC, usually Firefox or Chrome. I alternate between the two now because Youtube just decided not to play videos in Firefox and I can't seem to fix that.

I don't much like using my phone for browsing the net.... makes me feel like I'm looking at it from inside a tin can.
 

Carlos

A powerful demon
Xen-Omni 2020 Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
827
Reaction score
397
Points
4,355
Twitter
CarlosX360
PC, usually Firefox or Chrome. I alternate between the two now because Youtube just decided not to play videos in Firefox and I can't seem to fix that.

I don't much like using my phone for browsing the net.... makes me feel like I'm looking at it from inside a tin can.
I use FireFox, and YouTube plays just fine. Upgrade FireFox. You should already have it automatically updated every time you use FireFox, but if it doesn't... Go get it.
 

LordOfDarkness

The Dark Avenger © †
Staff
Supporter 2014
Supporter Diamond
Supporter Gold
Xen-Omni 2020 Supporter
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
11,337
Reaction score
13,133
Points
21,675
Age
29
I don't much like using my phone for browsing the net.... makes me feel like I'm looking at it from inside a tin can.
I’m always tin-canning it. Each to their own preference I just don’t own a PC nor can I be bothered to go on the laptop my phone is much easier for me especially when I’m out and about and want to jump on quickly.
 

Steve

Cheeky Wee McGregor
Admin
Staff
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
2,278
Reaction score
1,790
Points
7,425
Age
34
Twitter
yeahSP
Apologies for the late response, gang! Thank you to everyone whom responded and/or added to the poll.

And shame on you for not using GA, @Steve, you'd need it in case you need to sell the site or tell advertisers how much traffic you get, etc.
This is a good point. Google Analytics is an exceptional tool for collecting all sorts of data, but I am trying to limit the amount of Google products used in both my personal life and on the website. I am not a fan of their privacy handling policies.

No plans to sell the website.
 

lorddemolatron

I think im sort of dimensional traveller lol
Supporter Gold
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
3,929
Reaction score
3,315
Points
9,065
Age
28
Mostly seeing this website on PC with Opera
 

Carlos

A powerful demon
Xen-Omni 2020 Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
827
Reaction score
397
Points
4,355
Twitter
CarlosX360
Apologies for the late response, gang! Thank you to everyone whom responded and/or added to the poll.



This is a good point. Google Analytics is an exceptional tool for collecting all sorts of data, but I am trying to limit the amount of Google products used in both my personal life and on the website. I am not a fan of their privacy handling policies.

No plans to sell the website.
I'm not saying anything about selling the site, I'm saying if it comes to that... you basically have nothing to show for it. GA is more trustworthy that your server's analytics. I can understand the limiting google products idea. I will only use their phones/gmail/YouTube, but anything other than that? Screw google. I never recommend their browser, Chrome, in fact.

Google Stadia? HAHAHAHAhahaha. Like I trust google as my gaming platform.
 

V

Oldschool DMC fan
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
4,773
Reaction score
3,888
Points
10,015
I use FireFox, and YouTube plays just fine. Upgrade FireFox. You should already have it automatically updated every time you use FireFox, but if it doesn't... Go get it.
I did update FF, uninstalled and reinstalled etc. Still having the same issue.
 

Carlos

A powerful demon
Xen-Omni 2020 Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
827
Reaction score
397
Points
4,355
Twitter
CarlosX360
I did update FF, uninstalled and reinstalled etc. Still having the same issue.
Wow. I sometimes have odd issues with FireFox, I re-install, and it would go back to normal even without needing to clear my bookmarks and other "saved" information.

In any case, I think your system is bugged out. YouTube doesn't require Flash anymore, it's running through HTML5.
 
  • Like
Reactions: V

V

Oldschool DMC fan
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
4,773
Reaction score
3,888
Points
10,015
Yeah, I think something's going on, trying to figure it out from old forum posts on the Mozilla pages hasn't been fruitful though. I probably should give my system a complete overhaul, Malwarebytes and Avast don't catch everything.
 
Top