• Welcome to the Devil May Cry Community Forum!

    We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Devil May Cry series and video gaming.

    Register Log in

Forum Software, Style and Add-ons Updated - Please Report any Bugs

Hi all,

I've been wanting to make better use of this 'Community Announcements' forum, and thought this might be a good way to kick things off.

I've just now updated our forum software to the latest available version. It doesn't contain any new outstanding features but does include many . The style (commonly known as a template) has also been updated in step with the forum software upgrade. The following add-ons have also been updated and presumably squished some underlying bugs:
  • '[TH] Donate' - our donation add-on
  • '[XenConcept] Hide links / Medias / Images (BbCode) to guests' - A very long name for an add-on that has helped to reduce search engine spiders discovering potentially harmful images involving gore and occultism and other unpleasantness.
If you should encounter any issues at all, be they new or longstanding, do please let us know. Thanks!
 

Carlos

A powerful demon
Xen-Omni 2020
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
1,069
Reaction score
492
Points
5,190
Twitter
CarlosX360
Hi all,

I've been wanting to make better use of this 'Community Announcements' forum, and thought this might be a good way to kick things off.

I've just now updated our forum software to the latest available version. It doesn't contain any new outstanding features but does include many . The style (commonly known as a template) has also been updated in step with the forum software upgrade. The following add-ons have also been updated and presumably squished some underlying bugs:
  • '[TH] Donate' - our donation add-on
  • '[XenConcept] Hide links / Medias / Images (BbCode) to guests' - A very long name for an add-on that has helped to reduce search engine spiders discovering potentially harmful images involving gore and occultism and other unpleasantness.
If you should encounter any issues at all, be they new or longstanding, do please let us know. Thanks!
The update looks good, except to load a page? Its slower. I'm not saying its Turtles slow, but a bit of a lag. I recommend upgrading something like PHP.
 
Last edited:

Steve

Cheeky Wee McGregor
Admin
Moderator
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
2,299
Reaction score
1,842
Points
7,625
Age
34
Name
Steve
Twitter
yeahSP
The update looks good, except to load a page? Its slower. I'm not saying its Turtles slow, but a bit of a lag. I recommend upgrading something like PHP.
Thanks for letting me know about that. We're running PHP v7.4 on this website, so we're using a modern and supported version. However, I have considered reemploying a CDN to help speed things up.
 

Rebel Dynasty

Creator of Microcosms
Premium
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
5,366
Reaction score
14,352
Points
14,065
Age
33
Twitter
ShannonRohrer1
Well, not five minutes ago clicking on the DMC link (I've had it pinned for awhile) directed me to some Faith Gamer forum instead. O_O One other member had the same thing happen too.
 

therogis

ʙʟᴏᴏᴅ ғᴏʀ ғʀᴇᴇᴅᴏᴍ
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
558
Reaction score
776
Points
620
Well, not five minutes ago clicking on the DMC link (I've had it pinned for awhile) directed me to some Faith Gamer forum instead. O_O One other member had the same thing happen too.
Confirming this. Using Windows 10, newest Firefox. Only did that, while was okay, even though clicking the "Forum"-link directed to FaithGamer again.

The website in question: , now being "unavailable". Having Xenforo license as well.
 

Carlos

A powerful demon
Xen-Omni 2020
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
1,069
Reaction score
492
Points
5,190
Twitter
CarlosX360
Thanks for letting me know about that. We're running PHP v7.4 on this website, so we're using a modern and supported version. However, I have considered reemploying a CDN to help speed things up.
Don't go CDN. Just look at upgrading the backend. Every two weeks, I looked at my cpanel, for upgrades. If I see update, I click to reboot to turn features on. PHp7.4 is one, but there's other factors, talk with your host to see how to make things run faster.

My pageloads on my site(s) are faster, because I kept everything up to date. It's not always the hardware, it's a combination of things: Server backend, forum software, and so on.
 

Dark Angel

The Alpha & The Omega
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
234
Reaction score
213
Points
315
Age
25
Name
Dastan
Hi, I don't know is this a bug from a domain or server itself but I see this problem on my phone ((galaxy s10 android 11 use my default browser (samsung browser)) and I also tested on firefox and opera browsers and it seems all of people in the forum are missing their avatars and banners and I don't know why but I just let guys know.
 

Angel

Is not rat, is hamster
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
7,596
Reaction score
10,337
Points
20,075
Hi, I don't know is this a bug from a domain or server itself but I see this problem on my phone ((galaxy s10 android 11 use my default browser (samsung browser)) and I also tested on firefox and opera browsers and it seems all of people in the forum are missing their avatars and banners and I don't know why but I just let guys know.
I've got a Motorola G8 android phone and I'm having none of these issues in Firefox.

If anyone else is having this, can you specify which OS and, if possible, make/model of phone so we can get a better idea of whether it's our side or something else?

Our house is pretty upside down right now, but I have passed this on to Steve and as soon as he can access his computer, he can take a proper look at things

Thanks guys
 
Last edited:

V's patron

be loyal to what matters
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
8,226
Reaction score
6,007
Points
13,615
On my phone, the reply option doesn't appear when i enter a thread.
 

therogis

ʙʟᴏᴏᴅ ғᴏʀ ғʀᴇᴇᴅᴏᴍ
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
558
Reaction score
776
Points
620
@Angel, for me some of the avatars are missing, not all of them. Windows 10/Firefox.


Also it appears I cannot insert quotes. Clicking "insert quotes" -> "quote messages", but the latter does nothing.

// I checked this on Chrome and I've got the same issue, but with different avatars.
 

Morgan

Well-known Member
Premium
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Messages
626
Reaction score
967
Points
2,745
@Angel, for me some of the avatars are missing, not all of them. Windows 10/Firefox.


Also it appears I cannot insert quotes. Clicking "insert quotes" -> "quote messages", but the latter does nothing.

// I checked this on Chrome and I've got the same issue, but with different avatars.

Same issue with both avatars and quotes, but with Windows 10/Microsoft Edge
 

Carlos

A powerful demon
Xen-Omni 2020
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
1,069
Reaction score
492
Points
5,190
Twitter
CarlosX360
My area had a storm recently, and I could view a website or two. Avatars were disappearing, and the reply box was empty. My site can display both easily in that time, but since power came back I can see everything again. It's fine now.
 

Dark Angel

The Alpha & The Omega
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
234
Reaction score
213
Points
315
Age
25
Name
Dastan
Everything on my side with my Samsung S10+ (sorry, this real model and about PC problems there are from Win 8.1 that I updated recently)
and default browser is Samsung internet and I think this same for PC if want to say all accounts pictures and banners are back but @V's patron account still shows a different picture before you tap/click on it this strange (I think he changed his avatar and forum still shows his old avatar).
 
Last edited:

V's patron

be loyal to what matters
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
8,226
Reaction score
6,007
Points
13,615
Everything on my side with my Samsung S10+ (sorry, this real model and about PC problems there are from Win 8.1 that I updated recently)
and default browser is Samsung internet and I think this same for PC if want to say all accounts pictures and banners are back but @V's patron account still shows a different picture before you tap/click on it this strange (I think he changed his avatar and forum still shows his old avatar).
I tried twice changing my profile picture. Once on my phone and the other time via my laptop. From my laptop the new profile picture is shown but on my phone the old profile picture is present
 

Angel

Is not rat, is hamster
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
7,596
Reaction score
10,337
Points
20,075
@Angel, for me some of the avatars are missing, not all of them. Windows 10/Firefox.


Also it appears I cannot insert quotes. Clicking "insert quotes" -> "quote messages", but the latter does nothing.

// I checked this on Chrome and I've got the same issue, but with different avatars.

Same issue with both avatars and quotes, but with Windows 10/Microsoft Edge

I tried twice changing my profile picture. Once on my phone and the other time via my laptop. From my laptop the new profile picture is shown but on my phone the old profile picture is present
Hi guys - thanks for all getting back to me so quickly! Steve has made some changes which hopefully have resolved the issues found.

Please let us know if you're still experiencing problems or if something new comes up.

With regard to the avatar changing thing, I found I had the same issue a week or so ago when I changed from my old Spirited Away one to a new on Dark Angel made for me - on my profile, the avatar was altered but in the top right of every page near my account button, the avatar stayed the old one. No idea why, but we'll look into it as soon as we can.

Steve can only get online at night in the UK at the moment whilst our house is renovated, but he is fully aware and if something absolutely site breaking happens, that will be prioritised. Other stuff may take a while longer, but he is dealing with stuff as soon as he can.

Thanks for your patience guys
 

therogis

ʙʟᴏᴏᴅ ғᴏʀ ғʀᴇᴇᴅᴏᴍ
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
558
Reaction score
776
Points
620
With regard to the avatar changing thing, I found I had the same issue a week or so ago when I changed from my old Spirited Away one to a new on Dark Angel made for me - on my profile, the avatar was altered but in the top right of every page near my account button, the avatar stayed the old one. No idea why, but we'll look into it as soon as we can.
I might be wrong but that sounds like a cookie issue for me.
 

Angel

Is not rat, is hamster
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
7,596
Reaction score
10,337
Points
20,075
You could well be correct - to me, a cookie is something you eat. And you clear your cache to stop bears getting your food.

This is why Steve internets and I'm not allowed to
 

Carlos

A powerful demon
Xen-Omni 2020
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
1,069
Reaction score
492
Points
5,190
Twitter
CarlosX360
I'm on good connections atm, and I still see THIS...

 

Steve

Cheeky Wee McGregor
Admin
Moderator
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
2,299
Reaction score
1,842
Points
7,625
Age
34
Name
Steve
Twitter
yeahSP
I've temporarily disabled my current CDN. Please let me know if you guys are able to see avatars and whatnot again.
 
Top